Fucking Facebook.

I was lurking through Facebook today (I got a friend request from some chick I hardly spoke to in HS and will probably never speak to neither in real life or on the net).

Lurked around, sent some messages, changed my status.

As most of the people I graduated with (or was supposed to….LOL) is on Facebook, I decided to lurk and see what they were up to.

Well, let’s see:

  1. Three are engaged or married…or so their status and happy pictures say. They could be lying, though.
  2. Most are still in school (college…mostly of the CUNY variety)
  3. Some have graduated…..out of (say) 70, only about 10 have finished their Bachelors.
  4. Most are working low end/dead end jobs regardless of finished school level
  5. Most are single
  6. A few had kids…
  7. A lot of them have a love affair with booze and other…recreational things.
  8. Some are looking for sex (!)
  9. A few haven’t seem to have done anything much with their lives since HS. Not school, job, or general life-wise. Kinda sad, I must admit.
  10. A lot of them seem to be unhappy with their lives (join the fucking club) and don’t know what to do with themselves (maybe I should start a club?)

All in all, an abysmal bunch of losers we are, for the most part.

It seems to be a generational thing…there was Generation X, and we see to be Generation Why? As is, “why do I have to go to college when I can’t afford it” or “why work/go to school when I can mooch off my parents” or “why should I worry about the future? It might all end pretty soon anyway”.

These seem to be common sentiments not only amongst my old classmates, but the whole 18-25 yr old demographic.

All the turmoil going on (the failing stock market, the ever-rising prices of gas, food, and other necessities, the fucked up American govt) certainly doesn’t make the situation any better. In fact, it seems to lend itself to the common state of apathy we seem to be falling into.

Is there a remedy in sight? Yeah, and Mother Theresa was a whore….?

I am not the best person to ask for a happy-go-lucky outlook for the future. I’d be the first person to start singing REM’s “It’s the End of the World as We Know it” when asked that very same question.

OK. I love tangents; back to what I was saying about my classmates above.

Of the few who are actually doing well for themselves, I am about glad and envious of them. Glad ’cause it’s always good to know out of all the fuckups, some of us had the drive and gumption to do something. Envious, because at 23, I am a college dropout-cum-community college slug [who is in educational limbo] who still lives at home….my only consolation is my decent job; I can say with much certainty that I make more than most people my age…and I don’t make much at all.

Sad, isn’t it?

The times we live in.

Looking at Facebook got me all nostalgic. I’m thinking I should have some kind of impromptu high school reunion; would be nice to see all of the old gang togther in the flesh.

I would shock more than a few people…that would make it all worth it in the end, I think 🙂

Thanks for the love <3

