The Yob From Hell

I’ve been unemployed for about a month now. I had found what I thought was a great company to work for back in February, after being out of permanent employment for 6 months.  It was probably the weirdest and worst yob I ever had (yes, I said yob not job XD).

As most things in my life seem to go, it started out well enough. I found a listing on Craigslist looking for a content writer with social media experience. I go in for the interview, and I knew I had it in the bag.  I was hired as the content manager for a group of websites–I was in charge of generating content and revising whatever written content that was already there. The pay was shite, but they promised a review and a raise after two months. The space was colorful and modern, the owners young and enthusiastic, and they stocked the office with snacks and drinks…. it seemed like a great place to work. They promised me training and I started rewriting content my first day there.

English was clearly not the first language of whoever wrote what they had, and it was a struggle to cypher what was there. Add to this the fact that the sites sold things I had little to no knowledge of, and it made for an interesting first week. I had to do loads of research and verification, but I got through it. After that first week, they wanted me to get into doing social media and blogging for the various sites (of which there were 6) and I came up with a tentative schedule of how I would do this. They said it was fine and said I had creative freedom to do what I wanted. I was loving it! I got to write and lurk on social media all day…no one bothered me. In other words, it was a dream job.

But then….

Things got weird the end of February… all of a sudden, they had a problem with everything I was working on and didn’t like what I was posting on Facebook. Now, I am all for constructive criticism, but the way I was told really rubbed me the wrong way. You don’t give me parameters and then you wanna bitch about my content… content that you were all gaga for just a day or so ago? You gave me creative freedom, and I got nothing but thumbs up until this point; what the fuck? O_o

So I tell them that, and they explain what they’re looking for, I adjust accordingly. Everything is going OK for a couple more weeks, and then they make me do three days of research on SEO. Now, I know some basics, but SEO is a fluid thing that changes all the time. It’s something any serious business should invest in, but I digress from my tale. After the three days, they expected me to be a master and bring in customers by the truckload.

Umm, it doesn’t work that way, I said.

They said they understood that, but this is where it started to go downhill. They started acting really weird, whispering and talking in their language in the back of the office. They started acting all cold and started harassing me about the SEO stuff more. When I told them they should pay for me to get the training I needed, I was told that they didn’t have the money…and not only that, but the business wasn’t doing well and they had just applied for some additional biz loans (!) to help keep them afloat. They kept stressing keywords and all sorts of things I was trying to incorporate into my writing.

Nothing seemed good enough for them anymore. 

I was tired of being there at this point; everyday I felt so anxious (with the whisper fests and just general uneasiness), and they started nitpicking everything I wrote again. It got to the point where I wondered everyday if that day would be my last day there. 

At the end of March, me and one of the owners got into an argument. They had me doing some bullshit assignment (I was filling out meta tags on product listings or something). They used a system called Redmine for delegating tasks to us plebs, and that particular day I had two tasks that took me all day to complete. When I said I wouldn’t have time to write my usual blogs, they told me not to worry about social media and get them done. They hadn’t said a word to me that particular day (which was more than fine with me), until I finished the first task. Now, on RM, you can mark tasks as completed and closed, and I did so for that first task. I get an IM rife with irritation, asking why I closed the task.

Because it was done, I said. But then the nitpicking started.
“I didn’t want it written like this”, etc, etc.
So how do you want it?
“I dunno, just better than that.”

I was seething. I had it up to here. So with every ounce of patience I could muster, I rewrote some of the descriptions.

Is that better? I asked
“Oh, that’s better! Blah blah.”

For the second task, I asked him exactly how he wanted it done.

Boyfriend went all whack-a-doodle on me… told me I was “wasting his time” and that there were “other employees that needed him” and that I’d been bothering him all day (!).

Needless to say, I was flabbergasted. Before he IM’ed me to critique criticize my finished task, I had said no more than good morning via IM to him. So I typed that I was sorry to “waste his time” but if he would have been clearer from the get-go on how he wanted the tasks done, we could have avoided going back and forth for so long. I added that this was a recurring problem: I get a task, I finish it, he rags me for it and If he wanted me to leave him alone to provide clearer instructions. He was silent for a minute or two, then asked me if I read out conversation correctly, because he clearly said what I needed to do.

I was so fucking done.

I did something I hadn’t done in forever–I started chanting under my breath (Nam-myoho-renge-kyo) then went to the bathroom and kicked . At this point, it was about a quarter to 7 on a Friday, so I was almost outta there, thank Goddess.

When I get back to the office, the other two employees were leaving, so I wished them a good weekend. The motherfucker I was IMing was holding the door to the office. I go past him and started finishing up what I was working on. He started at me, so I ask him if he was holding the door for me… he said yes, he had to go to the bathroom and there was no one else there. I looked at him incredulously shrugged, packed up my shit, gave him a curt “have a good weekend” and bounced.

Monday, I go in and don’t even have a chance to put my shit down when I (and another employee) are told we were being let go because they got declined the biz load they applied for. I was really relieved actually; especially after Friday, I really didn’t want to be there anymore. SO I packed up my shit and I was gone.

They let me go exactly a week before my two month review, the bastards.

I figured hey, it really wasn’t worth the drama llama and the aggravation, especially not for $9/hour.

I’m worth way more than that…and so is my sanity. Good riddance to rubbish.

Fuck THAT!

Fuck THAT!

One thought on “The Yob From Hell

Thanks for the love <3

