Lipstick Madness!

I don’t know what it is but I’ve become obsessed with lipstick recently! I’ve had a few tubes laying around and used them here and there, but then I put on that TonyMoly lip tint I got from my friend Vanna and realized I look great with red lips! Why was I ever so opposed to red (lips and nails) is a mystery… I’m human, I change my mind and preferences as I grow old go along XD

My BFF Anna bought me a nice tame L’oreal lippie in reddish brown this past Thursday that looked great on me, which inspired me to go hunt down some nice reds… then I went a little crazy and got some other colors XD

[from left] Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA06 Hot Mama, NFA02 Gypsy, and NFA31 Fatale; ANY Maxi Satin Lip Color in NF038 Crimson, ANY Intense Lip Polish in NFA96 Imperial Blue, Matte Lipstick by Ruby Kisses in 21 Blue Lagoon, and NK Lipstick in 990 Moody Blue

[from left] Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA06 Hot Mama, NFA02 Gypsy, and NFA31 Fatale; ANY Maxi Satin Lip Color in NF038 Crimson, ANY Intense Lip Polish in NFA96 Imperial Blue, Matte Lipstick by Ruby Kisses in 21 Blue Lagoon, and NK Lipstick in 990 Moody Blue

I went to a local beauty supply store in Brooklyn and got these lovelies. The most expensive one was $2.99! I lurve a good deal XD

Now for swatches! Or try-ons? Whatevs, here’s le me with the lipsticks on:

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA06 Hot Mama, $1.99

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA06 Hot Mama, $1.99

Hot mama indeed! This is a really nice, standard red lippie shade. I like the formula of this lipstick… applies nicely, only took two swipes to get the color. I’m not sure about staying power yet… I’ll report back after I’ve used it for an entire day…. You can find the Ultra Slick lippies here. I got them for wayyy cheaper at my BSS, so if you live near discount stores or mom and pop beauty supply stores, be sure to check them first before ponying out that $$$ on the site! โค

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA02 Gypsy, $1.99

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA02 Gypsy, $1.99

I really love this red! It’s the red-orange color that I have fallen in love with for my nails… in lip form! This is definitely a more adventurous red! I think this might be my default red lippie color ๐Ÿ˜€

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA02 Gypsy, $1.99

Absolute NY Ultra Slick in NFA02 Gypsy, $1.99

I was intrigued by the thought of pencil-lead colored lipstick (and might have feltย a little trepadacious to buy it…), but I’m glad I took a chance and snagged it. I think it’s wonderful โค I don’t know if I’ll use it a lot, though….

Absolute NY Maxi Satin Lip Color in NF038 Crimson, $1.99

Absolute NY Maxi Satin Lip Color in NF038 Crimson, $1.99

This color is a deeper red that my shitty phone cam is showing -_-. It also has glitter in it! It really does have a nice satin finish, but it is a little gritty from the glitter. This will be perfect for the holidays, or when I feel really fahncy ๐Ÿ˜‰ You can find this color and more here.

And now for my favorite lippie buy….

Absolute NY Intense Lip Polish in NFA96 Imperial Blue, $2.99

Absolute NY Intense Lip Polish in NFA96 Imperial Blue, $2.99

ZOMG! You have no idea how long I’ve been looking for a reasonable dupe for this lip tar. I didn’t want to pony out $18 for it, so I was happy as fuck to find this gem. Sure, it won’t stay on as long as the OCC (which I will prolly end up getting anyway haha), but it is a great dupe! Hooray for cheap bitches everywhere XD You can find the lip polish here.

BTW, that site I linked to for the lip tar above is great… it shows dupes for a lot of higher priced makeup items… def. give them a look-see! ๐Ÿ˜‰

Matte Lipstick by Ruby Kisses in 21 Blue Lagoon, $2.99

Matte Lipstick by Ruby Kisses in 21 Blue Lagoon, $2.99

This blue was just too fun, so I had to get it XD

I don’t see it as an everyday color, but I can see myself putting it on when I’m feeling blue (har har). This applied very nicely… took only one application to get it opaque! For a matte lipstick it didn’t make my lips feel dry, so a definite plus! I’ll be grabbing more of these for sure! You can find the matte lippie here. It’s the same price through the Kiss site, so that’s a bonus!

Where the fuck have I been?? Since when does Kiss make lipstick??? They’ve been making nail products (and some hair shit too) for years…never seen cosmetics from them though and now I’m seeing them everywhere! I know Ruby Kisses was a cheapo makeup brand from way back (I’ve seen them for years at local BSS here in Brooklyn). Did Kiss buy ’em? Too lazy to research XD

I didn’t swatch that mood lipstick… it goes on so sheer and then tints my lips the most indiscernible pink when it color changes, I didn’t bother *eyeroll*ย I guess one dud out of 7 is not bad… it was the cheapest of the lot ($0.99) so no surprise right? But then again, I have some NYC and Wet N’ Wild lippies that apply nicely at the same price point, so… meh. This is the second lipstick from Nicka K I bought that I was totally disappointed in, so I will be avoiding that brand from now on. Funny enough, it was also a blue color! It’s a nice blue though, so until I find a dupe I guess I might use it.

That’s all I got for Lipstick Madness. I’m on the hunt for the perfect dying-rose red, like so:

Stolen from Pinterest….. I lurrrve this color!

I know MAC makes a shade like this… but I don’t want to spend $17 + tax for it -__- so mebbe I will find a suitable dupe….A diva’s on a budget and whatnot ๐Ÿ˜›

Til next time,

xoxoxo

Deena

7 thoughts on “Lipstick Madness!

  1. YvetteMyPet says:

    Just fyi, I haven’t been able to see a lot of your photos the past few posts. This one is completely empty. Check your host? Or view the post in another browser/machine? IDK. Feel free to delete this, just wanted to let you know. โค

    Like

  2. YvetteMyPet says:

    They all look good; but I like Crimson, Hot Mama and Imperial Blue the best. I cannot believe how much COLOR Imperial Blue has. I mean, that is pretty impressive especially considering the cost. Lipstick Queen’s blue color (Hello Sailor?) is $25! That’s definitely a good sub for the OOC tar.

    Like

  3. Deena White says:

    Ahhh OMG!!! I just pinned that Hello Sailor gloss to my Lipstick board on Pinterest. That is going on my wishlist for sure!! :-O

    As much as I like the lip polish (BTW it smells like blue raspberry! XD), I think the OCC tar would be a good investment… the lip polish has very little staying power. Since I think this might be my new signature color, I want it to last goddammit XD

    Like

  4. YvetteMyPet says:

    I want that massive OCC mini tubes set to come back SO BADLY this holiday (I swear there were more than 20 in that thing). I like the idea of having a tiny bit of all of the tars. I mean, you don’t need much anyway. But, yeah, that color looks great on you–good choice on signature.

    Some folks say that those tars are drying so, maybe you could use Imperial Blue as a moisture topper.

    Like

Thanks for the love <3

